TASSA 2016 Young Scholar Award

Call for Nominations

Nomination Deadline: February 1st, 2016

Following its successful launch at the 2014 TASSA Annual Conference, we are now announcing the 2nd TASSA Young Scholars Award (YSA) program to recognize the achievements of young Turkish American scholars, as part of the upcoming 2016 TASSA Annual Conference.

You are invited to submit a nomination (including self-nominations) for these prestigious awards.

  1. All the nominees from US institutions must be younger than 35 years old at the time of the nomination.
  2. The nomination package should include the nominee's latest CV along with one article (already published in the literature or a working manuscript) that exemplifies the best work of the nominee. Please also specify which area best fits the nominee's your scholarly work among:
    • Natural Sciences,
    • Health and Biomedical sciences,
    • Engineering and Applied Sciences,
    • Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities
  3. Graduate students, postdoctoral scholars/researchers (including from academia and industry), and junior faculty (e.g., instructors, assistant professors) are eligible for this award and the nominees will be considered in these three "separate" categories.  The conference committee plans for at least 2 awards at each category (i.e., graduate student, postdoctoral scholar/researcher and junior faculty).

The nomination email for this award should read "TASSA Young Scholar Award" in the subject line with two PDF attachments, one for the CV and the other for a representative manuscript of the nominee's best work. Submission of more than one publication per nominee is not permitted and would be deleted.

The nomination deadline is February 1, 2016, 5pm EST.

Each winner will receive an Award Certificate at the conference, and is expected to deliver a short, "elevator-pitch" style, oral presentation during the TASSA Annual Meeting, to be held at the University of Chicago, on April 2,3, 2016.  Hotel accommodations of the award recipients will be covered by TASSA.

Please note that those who are not selected for the awards will be assigned a poster presentation during the TASSA Annual Meeting, giving them an opportunity to present and discuss their scholarly contributions at the conference. Previous winners of the TASSA Young Scholar Award are not eligible to apply.

All nominations should be emailed to awards@tassausa.org before the submission deadline, February 1, 2016, 5pm EST. In the e-mail content, please indicate the full name, affiliated organization, age, and the science category that best fits the research interests of the nominee.

2016 YSA Committee Members
  • Esen Ercan Alp, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Bülent Basol, EncoreSolar Inc.
  • Murat Günel, Yale University
  • Ayse İmrohoroğlu, USC
  • Banu Onaral, Drexel University
  • Aydogan Özcan, UCLA (Committee Chair)
  • Feryal Özel, University of Arizona
  • Dani Rodrik, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton
  • Mehmet Toner, Harvard Medical School
  • Haluk Ünal, University of Maryland (TASSA President)
  • Paul Weiss, UCLA