2018 News

Biography of Hasan Yener, Director of Ankara University State Conservatory

Dr. Yener received his Bachelor of Music degree in voice/opera, from Dokuz Eylul University State Conservatory in 1989. After graduation, he conducted studies on vocal mechanism and singing voice at Speech and Hearing Clinic at Aegean University Medical School, in Izmir.   full story

Biography of Mehmet Ali Sanlıkol, New England Conservatory

Grammy-nominated composer and CMES Harvard University fellow (2013-15) Mehmet Ali Sanlıkol made his Carnegie Hall debut in April 2016 premiering his commissioned piece Harabat/The Intoxicated with the American Composers Orchestra. Other recent works have been heard at Tanglewood’s Ozawa Hall and on A Far Cry string orchestra’s recording Dreams and Prayers.   full story

Keynote Speakers of TASSA 2018 Conference, Kenan Sahin

Dr. Kenan Sahin is the founder/ President of TIAX LLC and also its Chief Technology Officer. He is also the founder and the interim President of CAMX Power which formerly was a division of TIAX LLC and in May 2014 became a separate company.   full story

Invited Speakers of TASSA 2018 Conference, Yalcin Ayasli

Born in Turkey in 1946, Dr. Ayasli is a graduate of the Ankara Ataturk High School and received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the Middle East Technical University Electrical Engineering Department (METU) in 1968.   full story

Keynote Speakers of TASSA 2018 Conference, Hasan Mandal

Prof. Dr. Hasan Mandal was born in Eskişehir in 1965. He was schooled at Yunusemre Primary School, Atatürk Secondary School and Engine Vocational High School. Professor Mandal received his bachelor’s degree from the Department of Metallurgical Engineering from Middle East Technical University as an honour student in 1987, and his Ph.D. degree from Newcastle University, the United Kingdom in 1992.   full story

Invited Speakers of TASSA 2018 Conference, Daron Acemoglu

Daron Acemoglu is the Charles P. Kindleberger Professor of Applied Economics in the Department of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a member of the Economic Growth Program of the Canadian Institute of Advanced Research. He is also affiliated with the National Bureau of Economic Research, the Center for Economic Performance, the Center for Economic Policy Research, and Microsoft Research Center.   full story

Invited Speakers of TASSA 2018 Conference, Charles DeLisi

Charles DeLisi is the Metcalf Professor of Science and Engineering at Boston University, and also served as Dean of the College of Engineering from 1990 to 2000. Prior to moving to Boston University, he was Professor and Chair of Biomathematical Sciences and Professor of Molecular Biology at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine (1987–1989),   full story

TASSA celebrates International Women's Day!

We feel full appreciation to all women who contribute to the science. They have changed our world and made it better. We believe that encouraging girls to get a higher education is crucial for creating big differences in our life.   full story

Call for Nominations: TASSA 2018 Young Scholar Awards

You are invited to submit a nomination (including self-nominations) for these prestigious awards. The conference committee plans for at least 2 awards in each category (i.e., graduate student, postdoctoral scholar/researcher and junior faculty).   full story

New NSF center will help to improve health in underserved communities

TASSA Board member, Aydogan Ozcan is working on new technologies for helping people with low-income, who have diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. Funded by the National Science Foundation (NSG), his team at UCLA is partnering with   full story

Canan Dagdeviren on Miniaturized Neural Drug delivery System (MiNDS)

It is now common knowledge that neurological disorders arise from the dysregulation of neural circuits, rather than from a single afflicted region of the brain.   full story

TASSA 2018: Call for abstracts

We kindly invite you to submit an abstract for the TASSA 2018 conference that will be held at the Boston University (June 2-3rd, 2018). The general theme of the upcoming TASSA 2018 conference will be "Disruptive Ideas and Technologies."   full story