Proposed Terms of Reference for TASSA Transition Team

The TASSA Transition Team is a task force appointed by TASSA membership to initiate and lead a reform program to re-structure and re-invigorate the organization, and elevate its capacity to perform at a higher level.

Until the reforms are completed and a new governing body is elected, the Transition Team will have the following specific responsibilities:

- 1. Serve as TASSA's governing and operational body.
- 2. Review/revise TASSA's original vision, governance framework and financing modality and propose a reform package for endorsement by a Stakeholder Assembly.
- 3. Identify the participants to the Stakeholder Assembly from among active and interested Turkish-American scientists and scholars in North America.
- 4. Organize and conduct the Stakeholder Assembly in 2010.
- 5. Work in close cooperation with the Chair of the TASSA Conference to be conducted in 2011.
- 6. Organize and conduct the elections for a new governing body (as defined in the agreed reforms) and, when established, transfer authority for TASSA to the newly elected governing body.

The Transition Team will

- elect a Chair from among its members, who will serve in the capacity of acting president of TASSA,
- appoint a Communications Coordinator, who will be responsible for regularly informing the stakeholders about the developments within the Transition Team,
- organize itself in a way to carry out its governance, operational and reform responsibilities most efficiently, and
- form advisory, support or other committees as necessary and recruit the members of these committees.

The TASSA Peer Review Panel will make available to the Transition Team its working documents and the past IT Committee chair will make the forum and other documents accessible to the members of the Transition Team. The past treasurer and auditor will cooperate with the team to provide TASSA financial and audit information.

The Transition Team should complete its charge in a reasonably expedient fashion, preferably no later than 31 December 2010.